Get the Most From Your Network

My Network


One of the main goals of the HIUG Tools has always been creating a sense of community for its users, and its networking features are another way this is achieved. Just like adding friends on other social-networking sites like Facebook and Twitter, you can add any HIUG.Online user to your network, allowing you to more easily stay connected with them.

To view all of your network connections, select My Network from the My Options menu:

fig1_myoptions

Figure 1: Accessing Your Network Connections

Your My Network page is divided into the following tabs:

fig2_favoritestabs

Figure 2: Available Tabs on your My Network Page

Activity Stream Tab

This tab provides a time-stamped list of all activity occurring among all your network connections, making it easy to see what your friends are up to on the site.

fig3_activitystream

Figure 3: My Network Page - Activity Stream Tab

This tab lists:

  • All of the people you are connected to.
  • Any pending requests from users you want to connect with.
  • Any pending requests from other users who want to connect with you.

Connections Tab

For people you are already connected to, you can:

  • Click the Disconnect button to remove them from your list of connections.
  • Click the Block button to block them, meaning they will be unable to communicate with you and be moved to the Blocked tab.
  • If you have requested a connection with someone and then decide you no longer want to connect with them, click the Remove Request button.

fig4_connections

Figure 4: My Network Page - Connections Tab

If someone has requested to connect with you, click the Accept or Deny button to accept or deny their request, or click the Block button to add them to your blocked list.

Following Tab

This tab lists the people you are following; by following someone, you can easily stay in contact with them and view their activity on the Activity Stream tab.

If you no longer want to follow someone, simply click the Unfollow button associated to their name:

fig5_connections

Figure 5: My Network Page - Following Tab

Followers Tab

This tab lists the people who are following you, meaning they can easily stay in contact with you and view your activity on their Activity Stream tab.

For each follower, you can:

  • Click the Block button to block them, meaning they will be unable to communicate with you and be moved to the Blocked tab.
  • Click the Follow button to follow them.
  • If you are already following them, click the Unfollow button to remove them from your list.

fig6_followers

Figure 6: My Network Page - Followers Tab

Blocked Tab

  • This tab lists all of the people you have blocked, meaning they can no longer communicate with you.
  • For each blocked user, you can click the Unblock button to remove them from your blocked list.
  • NOTE: If you unblock a user, they will be completely removed from your network and you will have to add them again if you want to stay connected.

fig7_following

Figure 7: My Network Page - Blocked Tab

Adding Someone to Your Network

Adding another user to your Network is as easy as navigating to their My Page and clicking the Add *user* to My Network button. Then, click the appropriate button in the pop-up to Follow or Connect with them (or both).

fig7_following

Figure 8: Add to My Network from My Page

fig7_following

Figure 9: My Network Options

  • Following someone does not mean you are connected, it is more of a one-way relationship that means you can view their activity on your Activity Stream tab. But, it is still a great way to keep up with what they are doing on your site. Following someone is instantaneous, and does not require them to accept.
  • Connecting with someone is more like adding them as a friend on Facebook, and similar to that process, they must accept your request before you will be connected. Similar to Following, you can see their activities but you will also be able to see more about them on their My Page.